Click the “Register to Play Now” button to begin signing up.


Photo courtesy of Gary Mullaly

Junior rugby league came to Mt Gravatt in 1958 at the Mt Gravatt Youth Club.

In 1959, Cec Rowlands, Bill Lederhose and Bob Payne established the Mt Gravatt District Junior Rugby League Football Club that played home games at the Mt Gravatt Showgrounds. The new club’s business was conducted from the Lederhose residence with Bill’s wife Connie taking on the responsibilities of treasurer, registrar and chief fundraiser and becoming the backbone of the club. She passed away in 2004.

The club relocated from the Showgrounds to Tones Road, Mansfield, in 1978 and the clubhouse was opened in October 1985. The home ground was named Allan Innes Field in 1987 in honour of the dedicated volunteer groundsman who moved with the club to its new premises.

Allan Innes

In June 1987, the club wrote to the Brisbane City Council requesting the Tones Road ground be named Allan Innes Field. The secretary wrote: “The development, improvement and maintenance of this ground has largely been due to the dedication of our groundsman Mr Allan Innes. The untiring efforts of this elderly gentleman have resulted in a playing facility for the boys of this area that is second to none.” The request was formally approved in September 1987.

Initially nicknamed the Mt Gravatt Eagles, the club had a period as the Mt Gravatt Mountain Lions before reverting back to the Eagles in 1994. In 2015, Mt Gravatt introduced its first dedicated women’s team, which would go on to win its first premiership the following year.

The club has had a long association with and is a junior affiliate of Queensland Cup team Brisbane Tigers. Their role as a feeder club to NRL powerhouse the Melbourne Storm provides the opportunity of a clear pathway for Mt Gravatt juniors to rugby league’s top flight.

As of 2020, three players who played junior footy at Mt Gravatt were contracted to NRL clubs – Corey Thompson (Gold Coast Titans), Edrick Lee (Newcastle Knights) and Liam Knight (South Sydney Rabbitohs) – while many more have performed in the Queensland Cup, including Alex and Lachlan Barr, Jack Joass and Caleb Daunt.

Former Easts Mt Gravatt juniors Liam Knight, Corey Thompson, Edrick Lee